Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1 2 3 4  Previous   Next
Unable to upload
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,378
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have tried to upload my collection and am unable to do so despite numerous attempts. I did a database repair and still no luck.

The message I get for the program closing is: "communications error encountered: socket error #10054 Connection reset by peer".

How can I fix this?
 Last edited: by Kathy
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorDJ Doena
Battle Troll
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Germany Posts: 6,057
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Find your peer fellow, beat him into a bloody pulp and then upload without his interference. 

Or try the following:
Select File -> Open Database and create a new, empty DB.
Then open that DB.
Try to upload this one.

Does it work?

If so, switch back to your original DB and try to upload it again.
Karsten
DVD Collectors Online
Amazon Price Observer

DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStaNDarD
Registered: March 31, 2007
Germany Posts: 662
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
This shouldn't be any DB-related problem. A socket error is an error with your connection to the invelos server. Maybe there's a problem on your side (did you try to restart your modem/router?), maybe there is/was a problem with the invelos server or maybe your ISP has some problems.
 Last edited: by StaNDarD
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,378
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Peer beating?!? 

I just got a new modem - maybe that is the problem.

Once I get home later this evening I'll try all the sugggestions. Thank you for the help.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributordee1959jay
Registered: March 19, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
Netherlands Posts: 5,847
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hi Kathy,

This indeed sounds like a router or modem problem. Try taking them off their AC current (unplugging) one by one. Try the router first - unplug it for a minute or so and then put the plug back in. See if that solves the problem. If not, try doing the same with your modem.

Good luck!

DJ
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,378
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Well it can't be my modem or router. I babysit my great nephew on Mondays so I brought my computer over here and tried using her equipment to upload my collection - same problem.

I had backed up my database and I've opened up a new database. It seems like it is taking forever - it is 39% complete - but once it is done I'll try uploading that one.
 Last edited: by Kathy
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKulju
Registered: March 14, 2007
Finland Posts: 2,337
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'll put my bet on Firewall configuration.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Kulju:
Quote:
I'll put my bet on Firewall configuration.


I wouldn't bet against this, especially since her browser seems to work quite well.

Kathy, check your Firewall Logfiles for blocked connections from Invelos.com and/or for DVDProfiler.
If unsure how to do this simply set DVDProfiler as "Trusted" in your Security software.
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorRanavalone
Registered: December 14, 2010
Finland Posts: 89
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
It could very well be that your new router has its firewall turned on by default (and the same with the router in the place you are visiting) and your PC firewall has nothing to do with the problem.

In situations like this, I usually turn the router firewall Off (but not before making sure that your PC firewall is turned On).  The thinking being that the firewall software running on your PC is very likely considerably more powerful than the firewall in your router - obviously your mileage may vary.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Most (especially those you get from your ISP for free) routers only have a NAT firewall, which simply locks all ports that are not in use by outgoing traffic.

While this is sufficient for most people it:
a) wouldn't explain why the browser is working fine and DVDProfiler isn't. For the NAT firewall both would get the same treatment.

b) isn't of any use when the malware is already inside your network
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,378
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
The mystery continues:

I added a new database.
I restored my collection.
I checked the firewall - DVDP and invelos are allowed.
I did a database repair after doing the above and still get the same message.

I think I'll try to download my collection and see if I get the same problem as uploading. I'll have to add the new DVDs again but I'm at a loss of what else to try.
 Last edited: by Kathy
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorPatorikku
Registered: March 29, 2007
Canada Posts: 402
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Reading this this could be a problem with spyware or the security setting of anti-virus software.

For malware you could intall and run Malwarebytes (its free).

For the anti-virus software, I will turn in off for 20 minutes and retry DVDP. If it work that would confirm that the anti-virus need some tweeking.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStaNDarD
Registered: March 31, 2007
Germany Posts: 662
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Did you try to send from another PC? Just to see if it's related to yours.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKatatonia
Heart of the Wolf
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 17,661
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Kathy, have you had Windows check and see if there's a problem with your connection?

If you have Windows 7: go to Network and Sharing Center, and then Troubleshoot problems. If it says everything is fine though...then your internet connection probably isn't the problem.
Corey
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,378
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting NeoZophar:
Quote:
Reading this this could be a problem with spyware or the security setting of anti-virus software.

For malware you could intall and run Malwarebytes (its free).

For the anti-virus software, I will turn in off for 20 minutes and retry DVDP. If it work that would confirm that the anti-virus need some tweeking.


I'm using the same one and had no problems. But, I did as you suggested and the problem remains.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKathy
Registered: May 29, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 3,378
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Katatonia:
Quote:
Kathy, have you had Windows check and see if there's a problem with your connection?

If you have Windows 7: go to Network and Sharing Center, and then Troubleshoot problems. If it says everything is fine though...then your internet connection probably isn't the problem.


I did this and the internet connection isn't the problem.
    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1 2 3 4  Previous   Next