Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1 2 3  Previous   Next
A new toy - ProfilerMissing
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,639
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Bromo:
Quote:
Thanks!  A very helpful program

Thanks Bromo,
Good to hear that my program is appreciated down under 
I figure that anything that helps users improve their local databases will eventually also improve the online database, and those improvements will trickle down to me, too, so in the end I'm helping myself. 
My software
Gunnar
 Last edited: by GSyren
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,639
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
There must be an easier way ...

When I hear myself thinking that, it usually means more work rather than less. But only in the short term, hopefully. And that's what happened when I was using ProfilerMissing to check which profiles were missing Country of Origin. But it could have been almost anything.

I made double clicking a row in the result select the profile i DVD Profiler, the same as in ProfilerQuery and NameCheck. But then I had to double click the title (or initiate an edit in some other way), move to the CoO field and enter the country. So I decided to make it possible to open the profile for editing automatically. Then I wanted to go to the CoO field. Moving the mouse there and clicking wasn't a big deal - once. But I had a lot of profiles to fix, so I had to do that over and over. Therefore I wanted to automate that as much as possible. I added the possibility of executing a command. Or rather sending a series of SendKey codes.

I found that 10 tabs would take me to the CoO field. Then entering "united s" would select United States and finish with Enter. I chose United States because that was the most common CoO for me. The next most common was United Kingdom, so just a manual Up key would fix that. And if the CoO was anything else I just had to type over "United States" since the Enter selected the whole field.

So now the Settings window looks like this:


You'll have to construct the command you need from the SendKey codes documented here. Or you can, of course, leave the field blank.

The command I used looks like this:
{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}united s{ENTER}

You'll find ProfilerMissing 1.7.0 here.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantTraunStaa
Registered: June 2, 2009
Reputation: Great Rating
Austria Posts: 254
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Greenie, as usual 
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorsamuelrichardscott
Registered: September 18, 2008
Reputation: High Rating
United Kingdom Posts: 2,628
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Superb!
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorWigram
Don't blink!
Registered: June 6, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 826
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,639
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks guys,

I was contemplating adding some more refined handling of command strings; being able to store and load them from inside the program, etc. However it seemed to me that keeping them in some text file outside of the program was good enough.

The command worked well enough for Country of Origin, because it is a simple country selection and for the most part you don't need any research to know where the movie originated.

I'm not sure how useful a command sequence would be for working with other fields. Let me know if you think that any enhacements are warranted.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,639
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Just FYI: 22 tabs will take you to the Genres field.

{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}{TAB}

That's another one that doesn't take much research to fill in.
You could even add a default genre - if you have very limited taste 
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,639
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Version 1.8.0

I realized that sometimes you may want to refer to IMDb, but if you've already opened a profile for editing you can't use IMDb lookup in Profiler without exiting the edit. So I added IMDb lookup to ProfilerMissing.

Now if you're editing the profile you can just Alt-Tab back to ProfilerMissing and either click the new IMDb button, or right-click and select "IMDb lookup" from the context menu. Whichever works best for you.

The lookup uses original title, if available, otherwise the regular title.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,639
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I just noticed that double-clicking to select a profile did not work in the Summary tab. Fixed in 1.8.1.
My software
Gunnar
    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1 2 3  Previous   Next