Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 3 4 5 6 7  Previous   Next
Tool: ProfilerQuery
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Wigram, thank you for the feedback. I always appreciate that.
Quote:
when the profile has discs but the location/slot fields are empty, the results show commas

Yes, that's kind of by design. Whenever the result is multiple values they are comma separated, even if those values are blank. If not all of them are blank, the commas will help identify which is which. However, I agree that it looks stupid if they are all blank, leaving only the commas.

I'll make a note of this, and I'll see if I can come up with an easy fix to remove the commas if none of the instances have a value.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting myself:
Quote:
I'll make a note of this, and I'll see if I can come up with an easy fix to remove the commas if none of the instances have a value.

This will be fixed in 3.9.0 when it is released.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorWigram
Don't blink!
Registered: June 6, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 821
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting GSyren:
Quote:
This will be fixed in 3.9.0 when it is released.

Thanks a lot for looking at it.

Now, I have a new problem. I had to re-install DVD Profiler after some layout problems. Those are now fixed. However, when I run Profiler Query and try to save a flag set, I get an error:

I downloaded Profiler Query again, to no avail.  Did I break something?
 Last edited: by Wigram
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
No, I don't think you broke something. It could be that I have overlooked something. I have assumed that the Flags folder is created during install. It could be that it isn't created until you actually save a flag set in Profiler.

I look for the folder at Documents\DVD Profiler\Flags. Do you have such a folder? If not, try saving a flag set from Profiler and check if the folder is created. If so, ProfilerQuery should work.

Let me know, so I can fix ProfilerQuery before I release 3.9.0.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorWigram
Don't blink!
Registered: June 6, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 821
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting GSyren:
Quote:
...folder at Documents\DVD Profiler\Flags. Do you have such a folder?

I do. Before re installing DVD Profiler, I took care of copying my flags (and HTML windows, reports, etc) elsewere and put everything back after re install.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hm, interesting. I wonder what's wrong, then. I'll have to give this some thought.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ok, I wasn't remembering correctly. I actually check the registry for the path:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Invelos Software\DVD Profiler->PathFlagSets

It would appear that either the name PathFlagSets does not appear in that registry key, or the value associated with that name is blank. Could you check that?
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorWigram
Don't blink!
Registered: June 6, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 821
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
You got it!

I checked and sure enough, there was no key for the flags path (and none for reports, filters, layouts, etc., either). So I went in DVD Profiler and temporarily changed, in Options/File Folders, the path to flags. Upon checking the registry again, all path keys have appeared. And Profiler Query now finds its way. It seems to be a problem of the DVD Profiler install (or of the way I re installed), and not of Profiler Query.

Thanks for your prompt help!
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
No problem, Wigram. Happy to help.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
There is a bug in ProfileData.dll version 1.7.0 that shipped with ProfilerQuery. If you try to use "Credited As" as selection or presentation in ProfilerQuery, you'll get an error. This is fixed in ProfilerData 1.7.1 that comes with NameCheck. You can copy that file from NameCheck and put in the ProfilerQuery directory, overwriting the old file, and things should work.

Notice though: If you have Credited As in selection or presentation, saved from a previous run, you need to remove that and add it again.

ProfilerQuery 3.9.0 will come with the corrected ProfilerData.dll.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantTraunStaa
Registered: June 2, 2009
Reputation: Great Rating
Austria Posts: 253
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Done, Gunnar - thanks!
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Well, since it seems highly unlikely that the specs for Profiler 3.9.5 will change I have released ProfilerQuery 3.9.0. It works with both the current Profiler and the beta (so should work fine with 3.9.5 when it is released).

In addition to support for the new features in Profiler, as mentioned in the NameCheck thread this version has a better interaction with Profiler when you double click a row in the result. It works even if Profiler is minimized.

It also contains the fixes for commas (as mentioned previously in this thread). And it comes with the corrected version of ProfilerData.dll.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorWigram
Don't blink!
Registered: June 6, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 821
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting GSyren:
Quote:
In addition to support for the new features in Profiler, as mentioned in the NameCheck thread this version has a better interaction with Profiler when you double click a row in the result. It works even if Profiler is minimized.


It does not work for me anymore. Double clicking used to call the Select by UPC routine and go to the profile. Now it just give the focus to Profiler and nothing else. Same problem in NameCheck.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Wigram:
Quote:
Quoting GSyren:
Quote:
In addition to support for the new features in Profiler, as mentioned in the NameCheck thread this version has a better interaction with Profiler when you double click a row in the result. It works even if Profiler is minimized.


It does not work for me anymore. Double clicking used to call the Select by UPC routine and go to the profile. Now it just give the focus to Profiler and nothing else. Same problem in NameCheck.

Thanks for letting me know. Looks like I may have to change the timing. Will update.
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
It turns out that Wigram's problems were caused by Profiler running as administrator. For a program to send keystrokes to a program that is running as administrator, the sending program must also be running as administrator.

Two things to be aware of:
- Restoring Profiler will not be possible if it is minimized to the system tray, only if it is minimized to the task bar.
- If Profiler is restored from minimized it cannot be minimized again unless you first click on its icon in the task bar. If Profiler is running elevated, even that will not work, and as far as I have been able to find, there will be no way to minimize it again without restarting it. This is not a bug in ProfilerQuery, but rather an effect of how Microsoft has implemented the ShowWindow API.

I have modified the code that restores Profiler from minimized so it restores to the size it had before it was minimized. I have also added Advanced settings in the Tools menu. Here you can adjust the timings for sending commands to DVD Profiler, if necessary.
Version 3.9.3
My software
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 2,602
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Anyone interested in a localized version of ProfilerQuery?

I have been playing around with the idea of making ProfilerQuery translatable. I have tested translating a bit of it, and it seems to work fine. I just don't know if it is worth the effort of going the whole way. I wouldn't be translating the DVD Profiler terms, though. That would require a major rewrite since they are so intimately coupled with the terms in the XML file (which are always in English).

So I would like to know if there is any interest in having DVD Profiler in your local language? If not, I'm just going to file this under "interesting experiments". If there is interest, I would also need people to do the translation. It's not a big thing, it will probably end up being somewhere around 100 strings to translate. But that's a later question.



Yeah well, Swedish was the only language I could reasonably well test it with. I'm guessing there won't be an overwhelming number of requests for that translation. But maybe French or German or Spanish? Let me know what you think!
My software
Gunnar
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Plugins Page: 1... 3 4 5 6 7  Previous   Next