Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
Play blu-rays with PowerDVD 14
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,886
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Since AnyDVD is defunct, how do I use DVDFab to play discs with PowerDVD 14. I don't want to make disc images, burn or anything else. I just want to play them on my PC. Supposedly DVDFab will allow me to do that for free, however I can't figure it out.  
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorbbbbb
on steroids
Registered: March 14, 2007
Posts: 5,734
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mreeder50:
Quote:
Since AnyDVD is defunct, how do I use DVDFab to play discs with PowerDVD 14. I don't want to make disc images, burn or anything else. I just want to play them on my PC.

You do not need additional software to play Blu-ray discs with PowerDVD.
Don't confuse while the film is playing with when the film is played. [Ken Cole, DVD Profiler Architect]
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRooster6975
Registered: May 27, 2007
Posts: 175
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
If you are looking for a free solution, I know of only 1 :

http://www.leawo.com/blu-ray-player/

The PC Bluray market has been horribly underserved.  Either you have to buy massive bloatware like PowerDVD for more than the price of a set top BR player, or else you have to go the MakeMKV route which does work, but requires you to rip the entire disc to your hard drive before it will play.  I know of two other HTPC people who gave up, and just bought a portable bluray player which sits on their desk, plugged into their monitor via an HDMI port.

Try the Leawo player above, it's what I use when the kids are hogging the TV upstairs.  Thus far, I have yet to find a Bluray I own that it cannot play.  And it is legitimately free.
 Last edited: by Rooster6975
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorElwood Blues
Soul Man
Registered: March 14, 2007
Germany Posts: 65
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Since when is AnyDVD defunct? The latest release (8.0.5.0) is nine days old...
Bye,
Elwood
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKatatonia
Heart of the Wolf
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 17,590
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Elwood Blues:
Quote:
Since when is AnyDVD defunct? The latest release (8.0.5.0) is nine days old...


He means the old AnyDVD from Slysoft is defunct. There are many out there that will not support RedFox for numerous reasons.
Corey
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantLowpro
Registered: March 14, 2007
United States Posts: 109
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
I second what bbbbb said.  AnyDVD HD has nothing to do with making it possible to play Blu-ray's from your Blu-ray player software.  Add DVDFab Passkey to that list as well.  On the face of it your post makes no sense.  Provide more details please.  My best guess is that you might be trying to play Blu-ray's you've imported which are not Region Free, i.e. the Region coding differing from what your Blu-ray player software is set to which can only be changed a few times before the setting becomes permanent.  This would be the one exception that comes to mind.  If you need to defeat the Region coding of certain Blu-ray discs before they will play in PowerDVD then yes, AnyDVD HD or DVDFab Passkey would need to actively be running in the background.  If you obtained your AnyDVD license from SlySoft either purchase a new licence, but from RedFox or go with DVDFab Passkey instead.  Done deal.
My Blu-ray Collection
My DVD Collection
 Last edited: by Lowpro
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorThe Movieman
DVDP User Since 2007
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,237
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Could be an outdated graphics card. I had the same problem on my laptop and unfortunately I'm SOL as mine is soldered onto the motherboard.
Movieman's Guide to the Movies
http://www.moviemansguide.com

Follow Me:
@moviemansguide
 Last edited: by The Movieman
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorAiAustria
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Austria Posts: 2,905
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
... or monitor...

For Power DVD the full chain has to be certified: drive, mainboard, graphics, cable, monitor.
List of common name threads - Headshots starting point
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,886
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Katatonia:
Quote:
Quoting Elwood Blues:
Quote:
Since when is AnyDVD defunct? The latest release (8.0.5.0) is nine days old...


He means the old AnyDVD from Slysoft is defunct. There are many out there that will not support RedFox for numerous reasons.

That's exactly what I was talking about, my "lifetime registration" only worked for a little over a year. It's only the most recent Blu-rays that won't play, such as Batman v Superman. I paid $50 for my blu-ray player (for the PC) and $250 for software to be able to play them. Now the new ones won't play.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,886
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Lowpro:
Quote:
I second what bbbbb said.  AnyDVD HD has nothing to do with making it possible to play Blu-ray's from your Blu-ray player software.  Add DVDFab Passkey to that list as well.  On the face of it your post makes no sense.  Provide more details please.  My best guess is that you might be trying to play Blu-ray's you've imported which are not Region Free, i.e. the Region coding differing from what your Blu-ray player software is set to which can only be changed a few times before the setting becomes permanent.  This would be the one exception that comes to mind.  If you need to defeat the Region coding of certain Blu-ray discs before they will play in PowerDVD then yes, AnyDVD HD or DVDFab Passkey would need to actively be running in the background.  If you obtained your AnyDVD license from SlySoft either purchase a new licence, but from RedFox or go with DVDFab Passkey instead.  Done deal.

I only buy in the US...Region A.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,886
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thank you everyone for your responses. I downloaded DVDFab Passkey and it works great. Again, thank you.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorDJ Doena
Battle Troll
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Germany Posts: 6,047
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I also nevr really could get a Blu-ray player to work in my PC without a decrypter.

I have a GeForce GTX 550 Ti, an HDMI cable and a monitor that's less than a year old. Nada. Nulpe. Nothing.

And even with a decrypter I have jumps in the image every few seconds.

Which is why I've given up on "Blu-ray via PC" altogether.
Karsten
DVD Collectors Online
Amazon Price Observer

 Last edited: by DJ Doena
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorAiAustria
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Austria Posts: 2,905
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Especially with cheap monitors there are problems: most of them avoid the license fees for HDCP...
List of common name threads - Headshots starting point
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantLowpro
Registered: March 14, 2007
United States Posts: 109
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting AiAustria:
Quote:
Especially with cheap monitors there are problems: most of them avoid the license fees for HDCP...

I forgot about HDCP.  That's another reason someone might need to run AnyDVD HD or DVDFab Passkey.

So mreeder50, what exactly was preventing you from playing recently released commerical Blu-ray's such as Batman v Superman with PowerDVD? You've confirmed it's not the Region coding you needed to defeat.  Was it the HDCP requirement you needed to get around?  Or was PowerDVD was just failing to play the Blu-ray for some other reason (...the way it was authored perhaps) without you first stripping it down using DVDFab Passkey.  Just curious.

And by the way, AnyDVD HD if licensed from RedFox works just as it always had.  It's updated regularly and supports every Blu-ray release out there that DVDFab Passkey does which I also own.  Sorry to hear though you only owned AnyDVD for a year or so before SlySoft had to shut down.  Bad timing.
Quote:
SlySoft license keys for AnyDVD (HD) will only work up to version 7.6.9.5. The RedFox OPD (Online Protection Database) for this version will be available until Tuesday, May 31, 2016, afterwards AnyDVD HD may no longer be able to decrypt discs.

SlySoft licenses of other products are not affected and will continue to work normally.

I owned the product for many years and got more than my money's worth out of it.  As such, I had no issues with having to re-up my license through RedFox for continued support.  In my case I've purchased a number of Blu-ray titles over the years that fall outside of Region A.  AnyDVD HD provides for being able to play those titles with the Blu-ray player software running on my HTPC.  The rest of my Blu-ray collection resides in Sony Blu-ray changers which aren't Region Free.
My Blu-ray Collection
My DVD Collection
 Last edited: by Lowpro
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorbbbbb
on steroids
Registered: March 14, 2007
Posts: 5,734
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting DJ Doena:
Quote:
I also nevr really could get a Blu-ray player to work in my PC without a decrypter.

I have a GeForce GTX 550 Ti, an HDMI cable and a monitor that's less than a year old. Nada. Nulpe. Nothing.

And even with a decrypter I have jumps in the image every few seconds.

Which is why I've given up on "Blu-ray via PC" altogether.

Maybe you are using macOS or another inferior Linux based distribution. My (unmodified) backup PC is about seven years old and I never had any problem playing a Blu-ray with Windows.
Don't confuse while the film is playing with when the film is played. [Ken Cole, DVD Profiler Architect]
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,886
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Lowpro:
Quote:
Quoting AiAustria:
Quote:
Especially with cheap monitors there are problems: most of them avoid the license fees for HDCP...

I forgot about HDCP.  That's another reason someone might need to run AnyDVD HD or DVDFab Passkey.

So mreeder50, what exactly was preventing you from playing recently released commerical Blu-ray's such as Batman v Superman with PowerDVD? You've confirmed it's not the Region coding you needed to defeat.  Was it the HDCP requirement you needed to get around?  Or was PowerDVD was just failing to play the Blu-ray for some other reason (...the way it was authored perhaps) without you first stripping it down using DVDFab Passkey.  Just curious.

And by the way, AnyDVD HD if licensed from RedFox works just as it always had.  It's updated regularly and supports every Blu-ray release out there that DVDFab Passkey does which I also own.  Sorry to hear though you only owned AnyDVD for a year or so before SlySoft had to shut down.  Bad timing.
Quote:
SlySoft license keys for AnyDVD (HD) will only work up to version 7.6.9.5. The RedFox OPD (Online Protection Database) for this version will be available until Tuesday, May 31, 2016, afterwards AnyDVD HD may no longer be able to decrypt discs.

SlySoft licenses of other products are not affected and will continue to work normally.

I owned the product for many years and got more than my money's worth out of it.  As such, I had no issues with having to re-up my license through RedFox for continued support.  In my case I've purchased a number of Blu-ray titles over the years that fall outside of Region A.  AnyDVD HD provides for being able to play those titles with the Blu-ray player software running on my HTPC.  The rest of my Blu-ray collection resides in Sony Blu-ray changers which aren't Region Free.

My version of AnyDVD is 7.6.9.5 and does not recognize Batman v Superman and PowerDVD requires AnyDVD or the equivalent to play them. DVDFab Passkey works just fine so far today.

I'm just not willing to give RedFox $100+ for another "lifetime registration" just to have it go away again. I don't copy, rip or burn my blu-rays. All I want to do is play them, mostly to do profiles.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
    Invelos Forums->General: General Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next